I feel it in my fingers

It’s day two of the blogging challenge! The suggested topic for today is to write about how we got into our business. I was going to do something else, but I’ve changed my mind so much that I’ve just decided to go with the flow.

Well, I became a writer because I wrote things and people told me that they liked what I wrote, so I kept writing.

Well, that was easy. Blog post done. Time to take a nap!

Alright, fine, I’ll go into a little bit more detail.

When I started writing, properly writing (and enjoying it), I was in college. My friends and I were writing a fantastically awful zombie television show. This was before the likes of the Walking Dead and Z-nation and all the swamping of zombie fiction that we are so used to today. It was the best kind of cheesy, ticked all the cliché boxes and the pacing was all over the place.

It didn’t matter though, because it had heart and that’s the most important thing. Well, that and silly jokes.

We had real plans of making it into a tv series. We even discussed how to pitch it to people and where to take it when we had finished writing. We managed to write one episode and a half before our lives got in the way and the project crumbled.

But by then I was hooked. I kept writing until episode five. I was living in the world, I felt like I knew the characters and didn’t want to pull away from them.  They were my friends and helped me through some tougher times at university. But after five episodes, an attempt to turn it into a comic book, a novel, a series of short stories and revamping the whole thing three times, I finally put the project to bed.

(That isn’t entirely true, I started writing it as a novel again just a few weeks ago. I guess I’m still not ready to step away from that world!)

The adrenaline rush I got from writing that series, that initial thrill, really kicked off my interest in writing. Since then I’ve written so many things and I still get that rush when I’m deep into a project. It’s like a fire in my chest and fingers as the words just fly out of me.

So I got into writing because I’m a bit addicted to it.

That doesn’t sound that great, but it’s the truth!

See you tomorrow, blog readers.

4 thoughts on “I feel it in my fingers”

  1. ‘So I got into writing because I’m a bit addicted to it.’ – totally sounds perfect to me!! And with my kids enjoying watching/reading Goosebumps and other such books, I am looking forward to your zombie read (with silly jokes always a plus)

    Like

Leave a Reply

