The Boat is stuck in the Dock

I used to be quite proud of the fact that I read many books. I’ve devoured book after book in my time, sometimes not even pausing between them, just picking up a new one as soon as I finish the last.

I’ve slowed down a bit now, especially as my job keeps me so busy, but I still try to read when I have the chance.

This year, I decided to do something different. I bought a small, brown notebook which was dirt cheap and, because of that fact, is now falling apart. Every time I finish a book , I gently pull the notebook out of delicate storage on my bedroom floor and then write down the title, genre, what I thought about the book and any favourite quotes from it.

After ten books, I came to a realisation: I might read a lot, but I am not very adventurous with my book genres. Here’s how the genre list went:

Fantasy.

Fantasy.

Children’s fantasy.

Fantasy.

Children’s.

Children’s.

Children’s Fantasy.

Sci – fi!

(oooh I’m really pushing the boat out now)

Fantasy.

That was it. No crime, horror, romance, literary fiction, autobiographies, non-fiction… Honestly, I’m a bit disappointed in myself. I always thought myself to be very varied in my book choices. But the opposite is true: I know what I like and I don’t stray from it.

So, with that knowledge firmly in hand, I am trying to read a bit more widely. My next books on my reading list are:

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte (I have no idea what genre this is. Google just says ‘novel’), Cobra by Deon Meyer (Crime, Thriller), The Art of Happiness by 14th Dalai Lama, Howard C. Cutler (Philosophy).

Hopefully that will mix it up a little bit! I also want to try to read Frankenstein again, but it annoyed me so much last time I tried, I might not bother.

I think stepping outside of my comfort zone is something I should make myself do every once in a while, just to see what’s out there. That applies even more to books because there are SO MANY BOOKS TO READ.

Until next time, Blog readers.

Leave a Reply

